Menu
Back
Articles
18 November 2020

Crypto-assets trading activity under French laws

Mainly based on speculation, crypto-assets are increasingly becoming the purpose of alternative finance despite a blurry legal environment. Traders use many strategies, from the most basic to the most advanced, such as technical analysis, copy trading or bot trading. Some of them make trading their business by offering services to third parties. As a result, this activity is not exempt from tax and legal regulations.

Trading can be made by amateur or professional individual traders.

The former carry out this activity on an occasional basis, on their account and generally alongside their main activity (study, employment, retirement, etc.). They operate within a simple legal framework: no particular regulatory obligations and taxation at 30% flat tax on capital gains (see the white paper of Waltio).

The latter are facing a more complex legal environment but dispose of several options to ensure their regulatory and tax compliance.

 

The regulatory framework for professional trading

The key opposition lies in whether the activity is executed on its own account or behalf of a third party.

Trading in crypto-assets for own account is unregulated under French law.

However, the management of a client’s crypto-assets trading account corresponds to the service of “portfolio management of digital assets on behalf of third parties” within the meaning of the French Monetary and Financial Code.

More specifically, this service refers to “managing, in a discretionary and individualised manner, portfolios including one or more digital assets under a mandate given by a third party”. For instance, it aims the activity of access to a client’s Kraken account (via API) to place orders on his behalf.

This service is not subject to mandatory registration as a Digital Asset Service Provider (DASP) as long as it does not implies the custodianship of the crypto-assets of the client, nor a cash-in or cash-out fiat service. Players seeking a level of regulatory compliance similar to traditional financial intermediaries can apply to the AMF for optional PSAN approval.

As an individualised service, portfolio management does not cover the collective management of digital assets, which falls under the regulations applicable to investment fund or investment management company.

 

Lastly, if portfolio management does not fall under specific regulatory obligations, it does not exempt the conscientious service provider to:

  • structure its activity within a company ;
  • implement a strong contractual framework (management agreement, etc.) tailored to the crypto-assets market;
  • comply with consumer law (pre-contractual information, the prohibition of unfair and misleading practices, jurisdiction, etc.) which remains fully applicable.

 

Taxation if crypto-assets trading incomes

Professional or individual traders, as well as clients of a portfolio management service, remain liable for their tax obligations.

The tax regime depends on whether the trading activity is carried out as a company or as an individual and whether it is conducted on an occasional or regular basis:

  • company’s income – whether the trading activity is carried out on own account or behalf of third parties – will be included in the turnover; expenses may reduce the result subject to corporate income tax;
  • individual income – whether the trading activity is carried out on own account or behalf of third parties – will be subject, for an occasional activity, to the flat tax of 30% applicable to capital gains on digital assets and, for a usual activity, to the BIC regime following the progressive scale of tax on income.

Our latest posts
Le guide ORWL sur la communication des PSAN
Articles
8 January 2024
The ORWL Guide on the Communication of Crypto Asset Services
Reports
14 December 2023
[Report] GEDI regulation: new rules for Web3 gaming
pocast MiCA law of code
Press
31 October 2023
Law of code (podcast) – Reviewing the EU’s crypto regulation MiCA

Menu
Retour
Articles
18 novembre 2020

Crypto-actifs : le régime juridique du trading professionnel

Encore largement spéculatifs, les crypto-actifs sont l’objet d’une finance alternative qui émerge dans un cadre juridique particulièrement flou. Le trading désigne l’activité lucrative consistant à réaliser des opérations sur un marché financier. Cette activité s’appuie sur les informations disponibles — malgré l’absence de délits d’initiés sur les marchés de crypto-actifs – et des techniques comme l’analyse technique, le copy trading ou le recours à de robots de trading.

Le trading peut être exercé par des traders amateurs ou professionnels.

Les premiers exercent cette activité à titre occasionnelle, pour leur compte propre et généralement à côté d’une activité principale (étude, emploi, retraite, etc.). Ils s’inscrivent  dans un cadre juridiquement simple : pas de contraintes réglementaires particulières et l’imposition des plus-values à la flat tax de 30% (voir le livre blanc offert par Waltio).

Les seconds font face à un environnement juridique plus complexe mais disposent de plusieurs options pour assurer leur conformité réglementaire et fiscale.

 

La cadre réglementaire du trading professionnel

La distinction fondamentale concerne l’activité pour compte propre de celle exercée pour le compte de tiers.

Le trading de crypto-actifs pour compte propre n’est pas encadré par le droit français.

En revanche, le trading de crypto-actifs pour le compte de tiers, c’est-à-dire le fait de gérer le compte de trading d’un client, correspond au service de « gestion de portefeuille d’actifs numériques [i.e. crypto-actifs] pour le compte de tiers » au sens du Code monétaire et financier.

Plus précisément, ce service désigne « le fait de gérer, de façon discrétionnaire et individualisée, des portefeuilles incluant un ou plusieurs actifs numériques dans le cadre d’un mandat donné par un tiers ». Par exemple, il peut s’agir de l’activité consistant à accéder au compte Kraken (via API) d’un client pour placer des ordres en son nom.

Ce service n’est pas soumis à l’enregistrement obligatoire en tant que Prestataire de Services sur Actifs Numériques (PSAN) à condition de ne pas assurer la conservation des actifs numériques de ses clients ou de leur fournir un service de cash-in ou cash-out en fiat. Pour les acteurs qui visent un niveau de conformité réglementaire équivalent à celui des intermédiaires financiers traditionnels, il est possible de demander un agrément PSAN optionnel auprès de l’AMF.

Individualisé, le service de gestion de portefeuille ne couvre pas la gestion collective d’actifs numériques qui relève de la réglementation applicable aux sociétés de gestion ou aux fonds d’investissement.

 

Enfin, si cette activité peut être exercée hors d’un cadre réglementaire spécifique, elle ne dispense pas le prestataire diligent de :

  • structurer son activité au sein d’une société ;
  • mettre en oeuvre un cadre contractuel solide (mandat de gestion, etc.) et adapté au marché des crypto-actifs ;
  • se conformer au droit de la consommation (information précontractuelle, prohibition des pratiques déloyales et mensongères, tribunal compétent, etc.) qui reste pleinement applicable.

La fiscalité des gains professionnels de trading

Les traders professionnels ou amateurs pour compte propre comme les clients d’un service de gestion de portefeuille restent responsables de leurs obligations fiscales.

Le régime fiscal diffère selon que l’activité de trading est exercée, d’une part, en tant que société ou personne physique et, d’autre part, à titre occasionnel ou habituel :

  • la société verra ses revenus — que l’activité de trading soit exercée pour compte propre ou pour le compte de tiers — intégrés au chiffre d’affaires ;  les charges pourront être imputées pour diminuer le résultat imposable à l’impôt sur les sociétés ;
  • la personne physique verra ses revenus — que l’activité de trading soit exercée pour compte propre ou pour le compte de tiers —assujettie, pour une activité occasionnelle, à la flat tax de 30% applicable aux plus-values sur actifs numériques sans report des moins-values d’une année sur l’autre et, pour une activité habituelle, au régime BIC suivant le barème de l’impôt sur le revenu.
Nos derniers articles
Newsletters
Février 2024
Consulter
Newsletters
7 février 2024
[Edito] Les ETF américains auront peu d’impact sur la réglementation européenne
Articles
22 janvier 2024
Comment anticiper la travel rule européenne sur les transferts crypto ?